Speaker Pelosi Names Select Members to Bipartisan House Select Committee on the Coronavirus Crisis

Apr 29, 2020
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – Speaker Nancy Pelosi today appointed Members to serve on the bipartisan House Select Committee on the Coronavirus Crisis, which will provide oversight of the historic $2 trillion CARES Act.  

“As House Speaker, I am proud to appoint these distinguished and accomplished leaders of the Congress and Country to the Select Committee on the Coronavirus,” said Speaker Nancy Pelosi.  “They bring outstanding mastery of Congressional oversight and decades of experience fighting for working families to our critical mission to ensure that our coronavirus response puts working Families First.  We must make sure that the historic investment of taxpayer dollars made in the CARES Act is being used wisely and efficiently to help those in need, not be exploited by profiteers and price-gougers.”

The House Select Committee on the Coronavirus Crisis, established by the CARES Act, is a special bipartisan oversight panel empowered to examine all aspects of the federal response to the coronavirus to ensure that taxpayer dollars are being wisely and efficiently.  Modeled after the Truman Committee that saved lives and billions of taxpayer dollars by preventing waste, fraud and abuse during World War II, this panel will protect against price gouging and profiteering and ensure that the federal coronavirus response is based on the best possible science and guided by our nation’s leading health experts.  

The Committee Members are:

  • Majority Whip Jim Clyburn (Committee Chair) 
  • Chairwoman Maxine Waters, House Financial Services Committee
  • Chairwoman Carolyn Maloney, House Oversight and Reform Committee
  • Chairwoman Nydia Velázquez, House Small Business Committee
  • Chairman Bill Foster, Subcommittee on Investigations and Oversight of Science, Space, and Technology Committee
  • Chairman Jamie Raskin, Subcommittee on Civil Rights and Civil Liberties of Oversight and Reform Committee
  • Chairman Andy Kim, Subcommittee on Economic Growth, Tax, and Capital Access of Small Business Committee

Majority Whip Jim Clyburn, D-South Carolina, is Chair of the House Select Committee on the Coronavirus Crisis.  He brings specific experience to this important responsibility.  He was successful in creating the 10-20-30 federal funding formula included in the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act following the Great Recession.  He did important work as Chair of the House Democratic Task Force on Hurricane Katrina.  He brings long-standing experience as an Appropriator.

Chairwoman Maxine Waters, D-California, is currently Chair of Financial Services Committee and comes to this challenge as a highly recognized progressive leader.  Congresswoman Waters has led congressional efforts to mitigate foreclosures and keep American families in their homes during the housing and economic crises.  She authored the Neighborhood Stabilization Program, which has allocated billions in grants to states, local governments and nonprofits to fight foreclosures, home abandonment and blight and to restore neighborhoods.  She is a leader on addressing health care disparities and spearheaded the development of the Minority AIDS Initiative.

Chairwoman Carolyn Maloney, D-New York is currently Chairwoman of the House Committee on Oversight and Reform, the first woman to hold this position. Maloney has authored and passed more than 74 legislative measures, including the James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act and its reauthorization to make sure all those suffering health aliments associated with 9/11 get medical care and compensation.  Maloney is a senior member of the House Financial Services Committee and the Joint Economic Committee.

Chairwoman Nydia Velázquez, D-New York, is the Chairwoman of the House Small Business Committee. She is the first Latina to chair a full Congressional committee.  As the top Democrat on the House Small Business Committee, which oversees federal programs and contracts totaling $200 billion annually, Congresswoman Velázquez has been a vocal advocate of American small business and entrepreneurship. She has established numerous small business legislative priorities, encompassing the areas of tax, regulations, access to capital, federal contracting opportunities, trade, technology, health care and pension reform. She is also a senior member of the Financial Services Committee and a member of the House Committee on Natural Resources.

Congressman Bill Foster, D-Illinois, is a scientist and businessman, and also is the only PhD physicist in Congress. He serves on the House Committee on Financial Services, where he advocates for consumer protection and a fair economy for everyone.  In response to the Great Recession, he participated in the creation of several important reforms in the financial services and housing sectors, most notably the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act.  He also serves on the Science, Space, and Technology Committee, where he has fought for evidence-based policies and forward-thinking approaches to some of our country’s most pressing issues.  

Congressman Jamie Raskin, D-Maryland, is a Member of the House Judiciary Committee, the Committee on Oversight and Reform, and the Committee on House Administration. This Congress, he joined the House Committee on Rules and now Chairs the Rules Subcommittee on Expedited Procedures. Raskin is Vice Chair of the House Administration Committee, Chair of the Oversight Subcommittee on Civil Rights and Civil Liberties, and Vice Chair of the Judiciary Subcommittee on the Constitution. He served as Majority Whip of the Maryland State Senate before being elected to Congress in 2016.  As a Constitutional scholar, he brings both an historic perspective and an entrepreneurial approach to the future. 

Congressman Andy Kim, D-New Jersey, serves on the House Small Business Committee, where he is Chairman of the Subcommittee on Economic Growth, Tax, and Capital Access and serves on the Subcommittee on Innovation and Workforce Development. He also serves on the House Armed Services Committee. He worked as a career public servant under both Democrats and Republicans, and served at the Pentagon, State Department, the White House National Security Council, and in Afghanistan as an advisor to Generals Petraeus and Allen. 

116th Congress