Chairman Clyburn Welcomes Select Subcommittee Members for the 117th Congress

Jan 27, 2021
Press Release

Washington, D.C. (January 27, 2021) — Today, Rep. James E. Clyburn, Chairman of the Select Subcommittee on the Coronavirus Crisis, welcomed the Select Subcommittee’s Democratic Members for the 117th Congress.


“I am pleased to continue serving with this accomplished group of congressional leaders and welcome Reps. Waters, Maloney, Velázquez, Foster, Raskin, and Krishnamoorthi to the Select Subcommittee for the 117th Congress,” said Chairman Clyburn.  “Last Congress, our Members provided vigorous oversight of the Trump Administration’s failed response to the coronavirus crisis.  In just eight months, we identified more than $4 billion in potential fraud in small business relief programs, returned more than $100 million in wasteful spending to the Treasury, and identified more than 60 instances of political interference in the federal government’s coronavirus response, including an effort to pursue a ‘herd immunity’ strategy of allowing Americans to become infected with the virus.”


“In the 117th Congress, our Members will continue to play a vital role in ensuring our nation’s response to the pandemic is effective, efficient, and equitable, and we will work hard to ensure that President Biden can successfully implement a national strategy to defeat the coronavirus and restore some degree of normalcy to our beloved country.  In order to improve our nation’s response, the Select Subcommittee will continue to examine the previous Administration’s catastrophic errors that have allowed the virus to kill more than 420,000 Americans and caused millions to face an ongoing struggle to find work, stay in their homes, and feed their families.  And we will continue to root out waste, fraud, and abuse in federal relief programs in order to protect taxpayer dollars and restore public trust in our government.”


Below is a list of Democratic Members of the Select Subcommittee on the Coronavirus Crisis for the 117th Congress:


Rep. James E. Clyburn (D-SC), Chairman

Rep. Maxine Waters (D-CA)

Rep. Carolyn B. Maloney (D-NY)

Rep. Nydia M. Velázquez (D-NY)

Rep. Bill Foster (D-IL)

Rep. Jamie Raskin (D-MD)

Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi (D-IL)


The Members were selected by House Speaker Nancy Pelosi and approved by the Democratic Caucus on January 26, 2021.



117th Congress